Where I’ve Been

Obligatory (?):

what_year_is_it_jumanji

Real talk, though: it’s been four months, and one of my biggest personal/professional goals was to maintain this blog and now I feel like I’ve traveled back to…well, freshman year of high school? I think that’s the last time in my life that I wasn’t maintaining a blog. I’ve had a steady LiveJournal/Tumblr/Wordpress kick most of my life.

There’s a lot I want to write about, so it’s just a matter of planning, drafting, publishing. But for now, here’s the skinny:

  • I’m on break after wrapping my first semester of my MA program. I’m loving it (minus the stress of doubling up on classes and working full-time), and I’m sitting at a 3.92 GPA. Success! My second semester starts on Monday.
  • I don’t write a ton about my non-literary life here, but obviously at least 40 hours/week are spent at my full-time job, which can be packed with tasks. I haven’t been the best at stepping away (literally/figuratively) at lunch or at the end of the day, but it’s something I’m working on (thanks to lots of support, of course).
  • This year has been fairly light on travel, what with not planning a wedding across the country or a honeymoon across the world. Oh, and the aforementioned reasons above – balancing class and work! Luckily, we were able to take a ski trip this winter and will be taking a vacation to celebrate our first anniversary.
  • Writing and reading have really taken a backseat in my life. This has been unfortunate, but kind of necessary. I have to be mindful about burning the candle at both ends, and I am prone to overextending myself.
  • …however, I have been taking care of me. I exercise. I make better choices about my nutrition. When I know I’ve hit my limit, I take some time to rest and recharge.

I mean, sure, I still get crazy anxious and worry about whether I’m living my best life, but that’s pretty normal, right?

2 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been

  1. Jenny @ Reading the End says:

    Hiiiii! I missed you but of course I am happy that you are also doing other great things. Your GPA is awesome, what a great achievement!! And man, no wonder you haven’t had time for casual/fun reading and writing, while you’re getting your degree. I started my blog just as I was graduating from college, and I don’t think I could have maintained one prior to that! School just takes allllll your reading energy out of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Justice says:

      It has honestly been super hard to readjust and find a routine. Part of that involved having a certain mindset and expectations for how the year would progress and where my mental energy would need to be. I think I’ll do an “attempting to find balance” post with reading tricks that have worked. I’m definitely more into reading now last semester, and I have a ton of your recs to thank for that!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.