Birchbox Review | August Box

I finally decided to pull the plug and get a subscription to Birchbox after hearing some great things from other subscribers. For $10/month, I figured I could give it a whirl and cancel if it wasn’t for me.

For those who haven’t heard of it, Birchbox is a monthly subscription box service for women and men. The cost is $10/month for the women’s box and $20/month for the men’s box. You fill out a survey and the company sends you products that pair well with your results. Product sizes may vary – many are smaller samples, but I got a full-size eyeliner that was easily worth the amount I spent for the August box! Each order nets ten points, and you earn more points with reviews for the box products. You also earn points when you make a purchase from the store or refer someone to the service. Every 100 points is $10 to spend on goodies.

My August box arrived in the mail in a bold, beautiful pink package. Wowza!

IMG_1742

The inner box was less flashy, but with a nice modern look.

IMG_1744

August’s box had a “finishing school” theme.

IMG_1745

There’s a nice card with an overview of the products and their full-size counterparts’ costs.

IMG_1746

My box featured the following:

  • Obliphica Blow Up Spray
  • COOLA SPF 45 Sport – Mango
  • Jasmine Seven Fresh Feet Wipes
  • Jouer Eye Definer in Noir
  • Benefit Cosmetics sampler with Triple Performing Facial Emulsion, Total Moisture Facial Cream, It’s Potent! Eye Cream

IMG_1749

As far as the box itself, there were some standout pieces and some meh ones.

Jouer Eye Definer in Noir
Definitely a standout piece. I loved this eyeliner! It really stays put, and it’s highly pigmented. I already ordered two other colors, and I have a feeling I’ll end up with all the ones sold through Birchbox before the year is out.

Benefit Cosmetics sampler with Triple Performing Facial Emulsion, Total Moisture Facial Cream, It’s Potent! Eye Cream
Normally I hate facial products, but these were great. The eye cream alone was wonderful. I started using it during a week with a few four- or five-hour nights of sleep, and you really couldn’t tell. With continued use, I wonder if I will even have to use concealer…

Obliphica Blow Up Spray
I like the idea of this product, I just haven’t figured out the best way to use it. I love volume, and this product promised that – but didn’t deliver. Now I’m trying to play around with using it as a texture product, since it also promises that. Results have been mixed.

COOLA SPF 45 Sport – Mango
I haven’t even tried this one yet. I am one of those rare folks who doesn’t love scented lotions or sunscreens, so I want that in very small doses. I’ll add this to the giveaway samples pile.

Jasmine Seven Fresh Feet Wipes
These were effective, but there is absolutely no reason for me to purchase wipes for my feet.

Any other Birchbox subscribers out there? What kind of luck have you had with the August box?

3 thoughts on “Birchbox Review | August Box

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.