2013 Reading Challenge Progress – Q3

Wrapping up quarter three, let’s see where I am with the reading challenges I signed up for this year!

2013-Audio-Book-Challenge-300x202
The challenge: 2013 Audio Book Challenge
Hosted by: Teresa’s Reading Corner
Challenge overview: Listen to audio books (pretty self-explanatory)
My goal: 24 audio books
My progress: Completed, at a staggering 39 total so far!

Genre Variety_thumb[16]

The challenge: 2013 Genre Variety Reading Challenge
Hosted by: A Daydreamer’s Thoughts
Challenge overview: Read a variety of different genres throughout the year
My goal: 12 books from different genres
My progress: Completed, with 15 different genres under my belt already!

2013EbookChallenge

The challenge: 2013 EBook Challenge
Hosted by: Workaday Reads
Challenge overview: Read ebooks
My goal: 25 ebooks
My progress: Easily on track to meet this one – I have 19 e-books read this year already!

new-author-challenge-2013

The challenge: New Authors Challenge 2013
Hosted by: Literary Escapism
Challenge overview: Read books written by authors whose work you’ve never read before (do not have to be 2013 debut authors)
My goal: 12 books by new (to me) authors
My progress: Completed several times over, with 41 books!

2013-book-to-movie-website

The challenge: 2013 Book to Movie Challenge
Hosted by: Doing Dewey
Challenge overview: Read books and then see the film adaptations
My goal: 3 books/movies
My progress: On track – I’ve read 4 books, but only seen 2 of the movies.

Classics Challenge

The challenge: 2013 Classics Catch-up Challenge
Hosted by: Quirky Bookworm
Challenge overview: Read classics (from the list)
My goal: 6 classics
My progress: Abandoned. Again. I think I finally need to accept that I am not a fan of the classics.

South2013

The challenge: 2013 Southern Literature Reading Challenge
Hosted by: The Introverted Reader
Challenge overview: Read Southern books – taking place in the South, written by authors from the South, with a Southern vibe
Why?: This was one of my favorite challenges from 2012. Also, full disclosure: I’m Southern.
My goal: 4 Southern books
My progress: Completed, with two books to spare for a total of 6 Southern books (y’all).

2013 2nds Challenge

The challenge: 2013 2nds Challenge
Hosted by: Darlene’s Book Nook
Challenge overview: Read follow-ups by an author you’ve only read once (or the second book in a series)
My goal: 5 second helpings
My progress: Completed, with 6 “seconds” read so far!

love-of-books (1)

The challenge: 2013 Banned Books Challenge
Hosted by: Buckling Bookshelves
Challenge overview: Read books off the ALA’s frequently banned books
My goal: 5 challenged books
My progress: Abandoned? Kind of? The challenge ended after Banned Books Week in September, and I only read one book that counted. Womp womp.

Leave a Reply

